Pondering Death

Sinister, that headline, right? Well, yes, it is. But there’s light, too. Let me explain.

A good friend of my mum’s died this week. She was a woman whom I have always admired for her strength, her outspokenness, her uncompromising free spirit. She always did what she thought was right, and she followed her heart, however painful it may have been at times. 

Her death was not sudden, since she’d been suffering from breast cancer for some years. But then, it also was, since her amazing spirit had carried her onwards as if not even this draining, terrible, hopeless disease could make her falter. I have never seen anyone meeting it head-on like she did.

But she is gone now. It pains me to think of her daughter and grand-daughter, who are mourning their great loss. I think of them every hour, every day, trying to send them rays of hope and strength. 

I am mourning, too. But more than that, I am grateful. Grateful that I had the chance to write her a letter before she died, confessing my decades-long admiration and wishing her well. Grateful that I knew her, and that she let me take part, however small, in her fascinating, powerful life. Her life was full to the brim with beauty, magic and laughter. 

The traces she left in my heart shall not fade away.

Leave a Reply

