Dear conscience

My conscience and I need to have a little talk. I’ve had it up to here with being told what an exceptionally bad person I am for the following (interchangeable) reasons:

– sleeping in

– choosing play over work

– spending money on things I don’t need-need

– spending time away from home

– putting my son in early childcare

– not keeping in touch properly with friends and family

– being outspoken, aka: making other people unhappy by telling the truth

– …

Obviously, this list is far from complete.

Dear conscience,

I appreciate your concern, and I assure you, your message has come through.

REALLY.

However, I now want you to stop telling me these things. I can take care of myself now, I’m old enough. If I have any questions, I will come back to you. Until then, please refrain from any further meddling.

Regards

CJF

Leave a Reply

