Best of 2009 – workshop

With the final phase of my PhD, pregnancy and childbed, 2009 hasn’t seen much conferences or workshops, to be honest. However, I have had two small conferences with my co-editors of the German annual Peace Report, one in which we planned the editorial of the Report 2009, and one in which we discussed the structure and outlook of the Report 2010. The first one was the preparation for our trip to Berlin to present the report in a national press conference and in the government committees which are concerned with peacekeeping and conflict resolution. I learned so much from my colleagues both during our get-together and during our stay in Berlin – they are so much more experienced in expressing political need for action in the world’s hotspots, like Afghanistan, and in conveying that message to journalists and politicians. I am as grateful for the chance to just be there and watch them as I am for the opportunity to take my own first steps in that direction.

Leave a Reply

