Best of 2009 – gift

Taking up my last post, I could say that the best gift I gave to myself this year was the gift of not having to be perfect, and I would not be lying.

Nevertheless, I think the best gift I have received this year did not, in fact, come from me, but from my beloved husband, who gave me a Diana F+ for my birthday. I have always liked photography, played around with my Dad’s very old SLR when I was a teenager, got my own SLR as soon as I had moved to Hamburg, even took a photography class. However, I never really understood how it worked. I liked some of my pictures, but didn’t know what I had done “right”, or what had gone “wrong” with the other ones. In fact, my approach to photography pretty much illustrates how I approached life in general back then: either it was perfect, or it was wrong.

The Diana F+ eliminated all that. I don’t have to have the “perfect”, i.e. focused, sharp, perfectly lighted picture; instead, a certain moment of surprise is inherent in lomography (at least for me). I love that. It teaches me how to let go of my expectations, how to let go of my “vision”, and to be open for surprises. For trial and error. For plain, good old fun.

One thought on “Best of 2009 – gift

Leave a Reply

