List No. 3 – Songs*

* I really tried to add some sort of description here. Like “Songs and their meaning”, “Songs that changed my life”, “Songs I know by heart” – you get the idea. However, the subject seems to be too complex to put a simple label on it. Whatever that means.

1. Help by The Beatles. Gateway drug to two years of listening to the Fab Four almost exclusively between ages 14 and 16.

2. Come as you are by Nirvana. Yep – I hopped from the 1960s straight to the 1990s.

4. I’m Easy by Faith No More. My family had to endure me listening to that song on repeat for what must have been months, if not years.

4. Ironic by Alanis Morrissette. The story of my life. Still is so, so true. This goes for almost all her lyrics, by the way.

5. Common People by Pulp. My Brit phase. I spent a year at Warwick University, UK, and saw them live. Both was fantastic.

6. This Way by Jewel. I don’t know. I just like it.

7. Satellite by Dave Matthews Band. This is just a token to say I listened to nothing but DMB for a LONG time during my time at university. And that in itself means almost an eternity.

8. Somewhere over the Rainbow, as performed, for instance, by Ella Fitzgerald. This was our wedding song.

9. Amazing Grace, as performed by, well, me. My favourite lullaby for my children.

10. Grace Kelly by Mika. Because there is no other song that lifts my mood like this one.

Bonus:

11. I and love and you by the Averett Brothers. Because that is where I want to go.

12. Impromptu Op. 142, No. 2 by Franz Schubert. My all-time favourite piano piece. Not that I’m anywhere near as good as this guy.

Coming next: List No. 4 – Songs that I cannot bear listening to. ever. again.

One thought on “List No. 3 – Songs*

Leave a Reply

